Ego

Standard

I would like to take a moment to point out that I am a frickin’ rockstar at my job.  And I feel the need to point it out because it goes so terribly unnoticed sometimes.  I work for a non-profit with a gross revenue of around $2.5 million.  Of that $2.5 million, I bring in $2 million.  Every other department is losing revenue, bleeding revenue, really.  Not me.  I increased my revenues by 25% last year.  That’s right.  While everyone else is bleeding money, I keep hauling it in.  AND I am hauling it in for other departments, too, because I have the opportunities to do so.  Because I am an effing rockstar.  I am the queen of innovation in this company.  And because everyone else fears change and innovation, and I thrive on it, my department is slamming out incredible new ideas and programs and no one else is.  

Now, we are a non-profit, so revenue isn’t our key driver.  But I assure you, if you have no money to offer programming, you have no nonprofit.  I believe the phrase is “No margin, no mission.”

I appreciate my co-workers and their talents, but this post is an homage to me.  So if it sounds a little self centered, that’s because it is.  I’m feeling under appreciated and a little taken advantage of, so today is my day to not let myself get down.  Today is the day I remind myself not to feel inadequate just because I am not appreciated.  

I am seriously really, really, really good at my job.  And if I worked in a more progressive organization where people weren’t so afraid to try new things, I could really contribute so much more.  Which is sometimes frustrating.  But, right now – today – the thing to know is that I am fairly incredible at what I do.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

