Standard

Tomorrow is transfer day.  I suppose I am expecting a call in the morning with the thaw report.  They didn’t warn me to expect that last time, but having been through it once now, I expect it this time.  Interesting, though, my wife forgot all about the transfer until she heard me tell our son tonight that I will not be going to work tomorrow.  I am trying not to be irritated that she can’t even remember it’s happening, when I have friends across the country sending me good luck and supportive messages.  They aren’t living it and they can remember.  I don’t know – maybe it just makes me feel like she doesn’t care.  I am just trying not to let it bother me.

I had acupuncture tonight and it was a good time to just breathe deep.  I did some visualization…which is not generally my MO, but my mind was racing and it helped me get a few minutes of quiet – which I needed.  Acupuncture again tomorrow after the transfer, and I plan to do the same thing.  Breathe deep and get some quiet.

In other news, I am thinking about starting Grad School in the fall.  I am looking to get my MBA.  I am waiting to find out if my company will pay for it.  If they will, they have guaranteed that I will not be looking for a new job until I graduate from my MBA program.  I have to take the GMAT to get into the Grad School program and I am seriously out of date on my testing skills.   Well, not so true.  I took a brutal test to get my professional certification not too long ago.  But I was doing some practice testing for the GMAT, and I am at least out of practice on the kind of stuff on that test.  I need to brush up on my algebra – it’s been a long time.

I signed up for a conference in July, another in August and  4 month online education course for a certificate in innovation implementation.  Life is going on regardless of what happens tomorrow.  That feels good.

I also called my insurance company today to find out of weight loss surgery is covered.  It is, but the conversation did not get off to a good start.

Agent:  What can I help you with today?

Me: I want to find out of weight loss surgery is covered on my insurance.

Agent: Bariatric or, like, Jenny Craig?

Me:  I don’t think Jenny Craig does weight loss surgery.

Agent:  Yes, but it’s a weight loss program.

Me: I am specifically interested in weight loss surgery, in particular, the gastric band.

Agent: So, not Jenny Craig or Weight Watchers?

Me: NO.

Seriously.  Most stupidity doesn’t surprise me anymore, but that definitely caught me off guard.

 

2 responses »

  1. Wishing you the very, very best of luck tomorrow. We’re doing our FET on the same day. I will be thinking of you as we head home for some bedrest!

    Maybe your wife is intentionally forgetful, as a way of self-preservation? Sometimes, when you’ve been through the ringer, your mind works to protect itself. I’m not saying that’s the case, but maybe it would help you to feel better if you gave her the benefit of the doubt?

    Bottom line — take care of YOU today, this weekend, and onward.

    Big hugs,
    Jo

  2. Thank you!! I think you are probably absolutely right about it being self preservation. And that does help me be a little more forgiving. Good luck with your transfer and take good care of yourself!!!

Leave a Reply

