IVF

Standard
We’ve started IVF. I said I would never do IVF. That’s so much money and there are kids in the world that need homes. Adoption was a good option for me if it got to that point. But once I found out that the cost of adoption is more than the cost of IVF, I changed my mind. We are doing IVF with genetic testing. So, after they get all my eggs out and get them fertilized, cells from each blastocyst will be sent to a genetics lab to be tested for chromosomal abnormalities. Once those results come back we’ll know if we have anything genetically normal that we can try to get pregnant with. This is a very long process with a timeline that runs through the end of this year, so I won’t be trying to get pregnant anytime soon. I will, however, be on massive doses of hormones in the very near future so they can get the eggs out. Yay hormones. (sarcasm.)

The lupron this time around has had the interesting and not so pleasant side effect of rendering me unable to eat. I can eat, it just makes me massively illl and gives me intestinal issues to an extent that I won’t even get into. Suffice it to say, I would rather just not eat than deal with the indignity and pain of the intestinal issues. I’ve been able to eat applesauce and a few pretzels and I can drink water again now, so that’s progress. I was feeling a bit better so i tried chicken and mashed potatoes tonight – and now I am paying for it. Tomorrow I am back to applesauce.

I also haven’t been able to run outdoors since I started the lupron. I have to stay home and run the treadmill. In my current state, I cannot be more than 1 minute from access to a bathroom without risking a seriously humiliating incident. So, at least we have the treadmill. Even though I feel assy, I am going to try to run tonight. The doctor said once I start the hormones, I won’t be able to do any running for around 3 weeks. And I am very close to finishing the C25K program, so i am trying to finish before that. Once that’s done, I am going to start again at the beginning and try to increase my running speed and distance while going through the program again.

Anyway, turns out that IVF, while it seemed relatively straightforward, gets a lot more complicated when you add the preimplantation genetic diagnosis. There are a lot of variable they didn’t explain up front. It seems like you should get the education you need to make a decision BEFORE you write the very, very large check rather than afterwards. But, ok, we’ll make it work.

Oh, and there goes my stomach again…

Leave a Reply

